News & Announcements

Summer Reading Club 2022 – Museum Schedule

Click on Library name for full event information:

Museum of Discovery

Monday June 13 2:30 pm Maumelle Library Tuesday June 14 10:30 am Main Library, Youth Services Wednesday June 15 10:30 am Dee Brown Library Wednesday June 15 2:00 pm Fletcher Library Thursday June 16 10:30 am Sanders Library Thursday June 16 2:00 pm McMath Library Friday June 24 10:30 am Children’s Library Tuesday June 28 10:30 am Thompson Library Thursday June 30 10:30 am Terry Library Tuesday July 12 10:30 am Milam Library Wednesday July 13 10:30 am Williams Library Wednesday July 13 1:00 pm Rooker Library

Learn More

Summer Reading Club 2022 – Music Schedule

Click on Library name for full event information:

mömandpöp

Monday June 13 1:00 pm Rooker Library Tuesday June 14 10:30 am Milam Library Saturday June 18 10:30 am Thompson Library Wednesday June 22 10:30 am Dee Brown Library Thursday June 23 10:30 am Terry Library Thursday June 23 2:00 pm McMath Library Saturday June 25 10:30 am Fletcher Library Wednesday July 6 10:30 am Williams Library Tuesday July 12 10:30 am Maumelle Library Wednesday July 13 10:30 am Main Library,

Learn More

CALS “Food for Fines” Program Back for Another Year

Food for Fines is returning to the Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) this holiday season. December 12 – 18, patrons are invited to bring non-perishable food items to any CALS library to offset overdue fines on their accounts. Food will be donated to the Arkansas Foodbank and Partners for Progress in Perryville.

For each non-perishable item brought,


Learn More

CALS Awarded Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize

The Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) is proud to have won the Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize. Developed in partnership between the Gerald M. Kline Family Foundation and Library Journal, this national award recognizes the public library as a vital community asset. CALS will receive a $250,000 grant from the Kline Family Foundation and be profiled in the December issue of Library Journal in recognition of the award.


Learn More

Shop Small Business Saturday with CALS

On Saturday, November 27, retail enthusiasts are invited to shop locally at Library Square. You can shop small this year by purchasing from local artists and entrepreneurs; give the gift of supporting a new business while also giving unique and handcrafted gifts to your loved ones. The Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) will be participating in Small Business Saturday at two locations downtown: The Galleries &


Learn More

CALS receives $225,000 grant from the Windgate Foundation

The Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) Foundation is honored to have received a grant of $225,000 from the Windgate Foundation.

The grant will support three programs:

  • $75,000 will expand the library’s community outreach program
  • $100,000 will support the hiring of two digital literacy coaches
  • $50,000 will fund instructors,

Learn More