Loading Events

Six Bridges Presents: Phong Nguyen, Bronze Drum

Phong Nguyen is the Miller Family Endowed Chair in Literature and Writing at the University of Missouri. In addition to Bronze Drum, he is the author of four books: Roundabout, The Adventures of Joe Harper, Pages from the Textbook of Alternate History, and Memory Sickness. He is the coeditor, with Robert Olen Butler, of Best Peace Fiction: A Social Justice Anthology; and coeditor, with Dan Chaon and Norah Lind, of Nancy Hale: On the Life and Work of a Lost American Master. He currently lives in Columbia, Missouri with his wife–the artist Sarah Nguyen.

Register Now

Book Description
A stunning novel of ancient Vietnam based on the true story of two warrior sisters who raised an army of women to overthrow the Han Chinese and rule as kings over a united people, for readers of Circe and The Night Tiger.

Gather around, children of Chu Dien, and be brave. For even to listen to the story of the Trung Sisters is, in these troubled times, a dangerous act.

In 40 CE, in the Lac Viet region of ancient Vietnam, two daughters of a Vietnamese Lord fill their days training, studying, and trying to stay true to Vietnamese traditions. While Trung Trac is disciplined and wise, always excelling in her duty, Trung Nhi is fierce and free spirited, more concerned with spending time in the gardens and with lovers.

But these sister’s lives—and the lives of their people—are shadowed by the oppressive rule of the Han Chinese. They are forced to adopt Confucian teachings, secure marriages, and pay ever increasing taxes. As the peoples’ frustration boils over, the country comes ever closer to the edge of war.