Job Opportunities




CALS Employment Application

Employee Benefits Summary

CALS does not accept unsolicited applications. Please submit applications for advertised positions only.

CALS is an Equal Employment Opportunity employer. Applicants not possessing the minimum qualifications will not be considered or acknowledged.

FULL-TIME POSITIONS

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR – The Board of Directors of the Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) is seeking a new executive director for the System. Dr. Bobby Roberts, who has led CALS for the past 27 years, has announced that he will retire in early 2016. The new executive director would be expected to assume his or her duties in or about January, 2016.

For a complete job description, minimum qualifications, and the application procedure, click here »

ASSISTANT MANAGER – Full time. Ron Robinson Theater is seeking an organized and flexible team player to coordinate administrative tasks. Primary tasks include staff scheduling, tracking sales and event rental details, and monitoring project tasks. Candidates must be able to lift 50 lbs. and work a very flexible schedule that includes night and weekend hours. $23,400 with excellent benefits. Send resumes by Monday, August 10, 2015, to Trey Woodruff, twoodruff (at) cals (dot) org, Ron Robinson Theater, Central Arkansas Library System, 100 Rock Street, Little Rock, AR, 72201, 501-320-5715.


PART-TIME POSITIONS

LIBRARY ASSISTANT I – Part-time, 30 hours/week, public service position at Williams Branch. Responsibilities include checking materials in and out, answering patron questions, registering patrons for library cards, some information searching and shelving. Ability to patiently deal with people of all ages, including a large afterschool population, while enforcing rules and policies is essential. Familiarity with technology, digital media, ability to do instructional assistance on devices, and excellent communication and customer service skills are required. Familiarity with popular reading and entertainment materials desirable. Some evenings and Saturdays required. $10.82, includes benefits. Resume/application to Latina Sheard, lsheard(at) cals (dot) org, 376-4282, Williams Branch, 1800 Chester St., Little Rock, AR 72206 by noon, 8/3/15.


LIBRARY PAGE POSITIONS

Pages are part-time positions, sorting and shelving materials. Must be able to lift 20 lbs. Must be able to reach all shelving with aid of a kick stool. Must have some knowledge of computers. Evening and Saturday hours may be required. Sunday hours may be required for Main and Children's Library. Contact individual location for specifics. $7.50/hr. Open until filled unless noted by a deadline. Applications may be submitted to the following:

CALS Employment Application for Page Positions

Terry Library – 2015 Napa Valley Dr. Little Rock 72212 – Two 15-hour positions available. For information, contact Natalie Marlin, nmarlin@cals.org, 228-0129.

Dee Brown Library, 6325 Baseline Rd., Little Rock72209 – Two 20-hour positions available. For information, contact Brian Martin, bmartin@cals.org, 568-7494.  Spanish language skills preferred.

McMath Library, 2100 John Barrow Rd., Little Rock 72204 -- Two 20-hour positions available.  For information, contact Laura Hodo, lhodo@cals.org, 225-0066.

Main Library-Adult Non-Fiction, 100 Rock St. Little Rock 72201 -- 20 hours/week.  Contact Jeannie Blakeney, jblakeney@cals.org, 918-3032.

Main Library-Youth Services, 100 Rock St., Little Rock 72201 -- 20 hours/week.  Contact Ellen Samples, esamples@cals.org, 918-3059, or Amanda Ferguson, aferguson@cals.org, 918-3049.