Library Card Basics
Library Card Basics: Online Application & Book Fines & More
How to Get a Library Card Online or in Person
Pulaski or Perry County residents can get a library card online by completing an online application or in person at any CALS library. Your library card will be mailed to your home address, and photo identification must be presented to complete the application process. A parent or legal guardian should accompany minors who apply to get a library card online but do not have photo identification. If you live in a nearby county, ask about the Gateway Project. If you are not a resident of Pulaski or Perry County or of any of the counties that participate in the Gateway Program, you may purchase a nonresident library card for the fee of $60 per year.
Newer materials: 2 weeks
Older materials: 4 weeks
DVDs: 1 week
You may request all circulating items located at all CALS branches. You may also request items that are currently being used by another patron. There is no charge for this service. Items will be sent to the library of your choice when they become available and will be held for seven days. Items not picked up within this time will result in $2 library book fines on each item.
Cardholder History Confidentiality and Proxy Use
In accordance with changes in the Arkansas Library Confidentiality Act 757 of the General Assembly, which amended Arkansas Code 13-2-704, Central Arkansas Library System patrons aged 18 and older can appoint a designee for the purpose of picking up items placed on hold by the cardholder, or for viewing and paying the cardholder's library book fines. Changes in the law took effect July 31, 2009.
Current cardholders should visit their local branch to complete a form to add the information to their library record. New applicants can make this designation on the library card registration form.
A/V and Library Book Fines for Overdue Materials
Adult Books or Audio/Visual Items — 10¢ per day; $5 maximum fine per item
Juvenile Books or Audio/Visual Items — 10¢ per day; $3 maximum fine per item
Interlibrary Loan — $1 per day; $60 maximum per item.
Book Kits — $1 per day; $60 maximum per kit
Patrons may renew library books online before their due date.
Suspension of Cardholder Privileges
Any patron who owes more than $10.00 will have his or her borrowing privileges suspended until his or her record is cleared.
No patron who owes $50.00 or more may log into library computers until his or her record is cleared.
Materials returned more than 12 months after the latest due date will no longer be eligible for payment of the maximum overdue fine, but will be assessed the full replacement cost for the item.
Material Replacement Costs
- Adult Fiction: $30
- Adult Nonfiction: $40
- Adult Paperback: $15
- Juvenile Hardback: $25
- Juvenile Paperback: $15
- All Audio/Visual materials: Full replacement cost + $7.50 processing fee
- Book Kits: $100
A/V Container Replacement Costs
- Hanging Bags: $1.50
- Single Cassette Case: $1.50
- Diskette Wallets: $1.50
- CD Wallets: $1.50
- CD Jewel Cases: $1.50
- Video Cases: $5
- DVD Cover: $1
- DVD Case: $1.50 (single DVD)
- Any additional trays in the DVD case: $0.50
- Cassette Albums: $5
- CD-ROM Albums: $5
- RFID Tag Lost or Damaged: $0.50
Accompanying Materials for A/V Items Replacement Costs
- Pamplet or booklet from any A/V items: $12.50
- Book accompanying CD-ROM (user manuals, etc.): $27.50
- (regular replacement charges apply for books accompanying audios and videos, such as children's read-along.)
Other Costs and Fees
- Lost Library Card: $1 replacement fee
- Unclaimed Reserves or Interlibrary Loan items: $2 charge if materials are not picked up
- Returned Checks: $22.50 per check; original charge and returned check fee must be paid in cash
Replacement Cost Refunds and Substitutions Policy
The total replacement charge per item will be refunded if the item is returned in good condition within 6 months of when the item was paid for. You must present your receipt in order to receive the refund. Replacement charges will only be refunded by check mailed to the address listed in your library account.
Replacement of lost material with another copy of the same item may be permitted at the discretion of the branch manager or department head. A processing fee of $7.50 will be charged. This option is not available for Easy Children's Books.
Replacement cost is determined by the lending library.
All CALS materials may be returned to any branch in the Central Arkansas Library System.
Corporate Library Cards
Companies, service agencies, churches, and other organizations operating within the Central Arkansas Library System service area may apply for corporate library cards.
To apply, complete a corporate library card application and submit a request on the organization's letterhead, signed by the director or other authority figure. Library cards will be issued in the organization's name, in care of the president or director, and sent to the given address. The company or organization is responsible for all charges incurred through the use of their library cards.
The Gateway Project
Library patrons who are Gateway cardholders have reciprocal borrowing privileges at any of the participating libraries. Cardholders have access to a 1.5 million-volume collection at no cost. Residents of Arkansas, Bradley, Chicot, Clark, Cleburne, Cleveland, Conway, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Jackson, Jefferson, Lincoln, Lonoke, Montgomery, Nevada, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, and White are eligible to participate in the program.
You must be at least 14 years of age to be eligible for a Gateway card, and you must begin the application process for the Gateway card at your home library before visiting the library for which you wish to obtain the card.
Download a brochure with more information about the Gateway Project.